Perfect Day

Having just had my own perfect day, which consisted of pulling weeds in the garden and doing a few pushback emails in the morning, I devoted the rest of the day to relaxation – the kind which involves a small sailboat on a small lake, and a gentle breeze. Also reading on a docked boat, where everything is remembered. I am re reading my favorite Don Delillo Novel, The Names, and remembering it all. And so, coming home, with the song in my head, the perfect day, the perfect day, found and snagged on Spotify to listen to again, here in the Garage.

Lou Reed’s “Perfect Day” sounds in part as if it could have been written by Mr. Rogers:
“Such a perfect day, I’m glad I spent it with you…”
But then, unexpectedly, there’s the self-loathing
“You made me forget myself, I thought I was someone else, someone good.”
Jeezus, man. What a lot to forget. What a song.

“Just a perfect day
drink sangria in a park
and then later
when it gets dark we go home”
Indeed, man, indeed. The Dude abides, etc.

Leave a Reply

