Packaged meat

“I often wonder whether real conversation in real time may eventually give way to these sanitised and easier screen dialogues, in much the same way as killing, skinning and butchering an animal to eat has been replaced by the convenience of packages of meat on the supermarket shelf.”

File the above quote under “great metaphors for our time.”  Spoken by Baroness Greenfield over at the Telegraph.

One thought on “Packaged meat

  1. This is the reason why I’m growing an aversion to the idea of owning an iPhone. I’m convinced that there’s an inverse relationship between the level of “real conversation in real time” and the price of Apple stock. Plus, I’m precluded from being a part of most of the remaining “real” conversations too, since most seem to start with, “check out this new app I got for my iPhone…” or some other boring iPhone-related topic.

    I was at the Giants game this last Friday night when Velez fired a line drive home run right over our heads into the rows behind. Of the 7 other people in my row, only 3 people noticed. No joke. The other 4… yup, you guessed it – heads down, fully immersed in iPhoneland. One guy looked up and asked, “what happened? Did we just hit a homer?” I guess he could always google the instant replay. Unplug yourself!

    The irony of a rant about the lack of real conversation on a blog site just occured to me. That will be all now.

Leave a Reply

