I speak real good

On the same day (yesterday) that Barack Obama was busy giving one of the most eloquent speeches on race for decades, the Chimp in Chief was in Sarasota, mangling the English language … yet again. It’s like the crazy uncle everybody has gotten used to, so we don’t even think about it anymore when he says amazingly stupid things like, “I heard somebody say, where’s Mandela? Well, Mandela is dead, because Saddam Hussein killed all the Mandelas.” I’m not making this up. Click on the link yourself if you don’t believe me.

Yesterday’s pronouncements, while not as bizare as the above, still demonstrate that the guy is not playing with a full deck. Here’s one example amongst many:

Spending Research And Development
“But there’s a lot of research and development being spent here in America.”

Lord, give me strength to endure the remaining months of this so-called presidency.

5 thoughts on “I speak real good

  1. I can’t believe I’m about to write this, but in Bush’s defense (man, that was tough), research and development (R&D) is an expense classification in accounting lingo, and is commonly referred to in this way. I guess if you changed “spent” to “expensed” it might be clearer. Now, let me qualify my defense by stating that in no way does this mean that Bush is not a piss-poor excuse for a Wall-Mart greeter let alone president of the USA. He is still the world’s biggest tool, no doubt about it.

  2. I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt on this one, but only because he has spewed enough legitimate nonsense over the last 8 years to keep John Stewart employed for years to come.

    The Mandela comment was certainly off-base too – mostly because it came from Bush’s mouth. It took me a minute or two to see the metaphor he was trying to convey, and I think if anyone else were to have made the same point, we would have understood the meaning immediately. The difference is when Bush says “Mandela’s dead”, we almost have to assume that he literally means “Nelson Mandela is deceased” because it’s not surprising to us that Bush would say something that stupid. It would be reckless for us to assume that he has the mental capacity to contrast apartheid with Iraq’s current need for a similarly strong leader to emerge, seeing as he surely can’t point to South Africa on a map.

Leave a Reply

